Guitarists

Posted In: Music. Reading This Thread:

23rd Jul 2004 at 3:27 pm

And Then My Mind Split Open... - mischievous kids cuss

mischievous kids cuss

Who plays guitar here? What kind of stuff do you play? Are in a band? What other guitarists inspire you? Who is the best guitarist ever? Tabs or chords? Acoustic or electric? Single pick-ups of humbuckers? Give us some tips? Share your knowledge.

This is a thread for anyone that plays guitar.
They imitate but I teach

23rd Jul 2004 at 3:39 pm

mischievous kids cuss

Me? I've been playing guitar for 9-10 months now. I'm finally getting the hang of it, in terms of my fingers being able to switch between chords fast, and I'm getting much better at pull-offs and slides and hammer-ons and bending notes. Still need a lot of practice though... I'm still nowhere nearer to being able to play 'Ball and Biscuit'...

I mostly learn songs by these bands: The White Stripes (cannon and expecting are particular favourites), The Rapture (although find Rapture tabs is bloody hard), the odd Metallica riff, the odd AC/DC riff (Back in Black! you damn right) and random other songs that appeal to me...
They imitate but I teach

Bob Flapper

| 5,002 posts

23rd Jul 2004 at 3:48 pm

Bob Flapper - Me?!

Me?!

I've been playing guitar for about 2 and a half years. I struggled for the first year but you always get better. At first the chords were killer and I couldn't barre to save my life but know that's fine, and I know how to construct chords from majors to diminished 7's. That sounds far more impressive than it actually is.

I've been in one decent band as a bassist whilst i got better at guitar, but now I'm trying to form my own band. I always wanted to play guitar but I don't know which guitarist it was that made me love the sound of the instrument. Possibly Noel Gallagher as Oasis was all i listened to when I was about 9.